Good news

I finally got my Oncotype DX results, and my recurrence score was a 19. This is the bottom end of the intermediate risk. As a reminder –

<18 = low

18-30 = intermediate

>30 = high

Based on that score and the NHS Predict results:


It shad been decided I won’t need chemo. They figures you can’t see for the green (Tamoxifen) and orange (chemo) are 5.6 and 2.7 respectively. On the 5 year survival it’s 2.4 and 1.2.

There is too small a gain to take the risks associated with chemo. What I don’t understand and what I didn’t ask is why I should bother taking Tamoxifen for 10 years when there also seems to be a very small gain from doing so.
I suppose I should ask that question.

Now I’ve been referred for radiotherapy, which seems to me to be the last hurdle in this – assuming I don’t have any adverse effects from the Tamoxifen. The radiotherapy will be 3 weeks to the whole breast and (I think) some extra days where I get an extra boost to the tumour bed.

Leave a Reply

